Setting up Larger Themes on Wordpress

Hello, I’m new to render and I’m trying to set up my wordpress site. I have a theme that I’ve purchased from themeforest.net, but it seems the theme is too large and my upload stalls before saying “The link you followed has expired”. I looked at this issue and it seems to have to do with the file size limit on my site. I also found that I can change these settings through the phpini or the .htaccess files however I need to access these file through either an ftp or a program through my host such as cpanel. I’m unfamiliar with cpanel or how to access it by I have filezilla (an ftp) already installed on my computer. I am unsure how to get the proper login credentials for my site though. Does anyone have any suggestions about how to do so or another way to get my theme to upload? Thanks!

Hello,

Can you share the ID for the service that is having problems? You can get it from the URL in the Render dashboard. It starts with srv-.

For sure. It’s srv-c19a82tc2rvrtdg3vqo0. Thanks!

Your service comes with a web shell that allows you to SSH into the service and configure the php.ini or .htaccess file. Are you able to use that to edit the setting?

Thanks for the help Jake! I’m not super familiar with using the shell system though. Would you be able to tell me the steps to do so? I can access the shell through my render dashboard, but I’m having trouble actually getting to the php.ini or .htaccess files

To find your php.ini file, you can run:

$ php -i | grep 'Configuration File'
Configuration File (php.ini) Path => /etc

From there, you can run nano {path to file} (in the example above, it path to file would be /etc). This will open the editor where you can make updates to the file.

The location of the .htaccess seems to vary depending on your Wordpress setup, so I can’t say where that might be for your setup.