Please explain persistent disks more with Wordpress as an example

• I want to set up Wordpress with the Woocommerce plugin
  • I then want to add products which have images and other data, and these images go under the wordpress director eg. /wp-content/uploads/
  • I am new to these new type of hosting services like Render as I am only familiar with VPS setups
  • Now my question is…I understand these deployments work with my github repo, and if I need to make a new change, I push it to the repo and Render detects the change and rebuilds the site
  • But what if I need to upload an image in Wordpress, how will it store the image if I am not pushing the image via git? Maybe I can push the plugins via git but if I need to add a product and add the image…I have to push the image via git? This sounds…wrong…or I am missing something here.

Can someone please clarify?

Hey there

We have an example of how to install and use Wordpress on us located at Deploy WordPress | Render Docs this uses the official Wordpress Docker image and provisions a web service with disk and a mySQL service, I will highlight that “as is” it would cost $50 per month based on the 2 Standard instance types it uses.

Being based on a Docker image, key to this setup is having a disk mounted to /var/www/html so when the Docker image starts, the Docker image detects that Wordpress is not installed in the path and then installs it - you’ll see this in the

==> Deploying...WordPress not found in /var/www/html - copying now...Complete! WordPress has been successfully copied to /var/www/html

so if you then use shell or ssh to access the service you’re dropped right into the folder

So from this point, you can treat it much like any other Wordpress install - uploads etc are all put to wp-content/uploads and it just works - you can install updates, plugins, themes etc

No Git involved, just remember - as it’s not managed mySQL you have to make sure you’re taking a backup of it yourself,

Regards

John B