Peculiar Cookie Discovery

Hello Render Community!

This is my first time trying to host web services through render and have experienced a very interesting phenomena.

I come from a heroku background, and thought I was familiar with how public prefix’s can effect cookie writing to the browser, making it sometimes painful. But render I think has something funky going on when you introduce a docker container in your setup.

My current setup consists of 2 web services, one for my server and one for the ui. My server is written in kotlin, compiled down with gradle and dockerized. My UI is written in solidJS and uses the fetch API to communicate with the server. So far, everything has been going as planned, and I have to say I’m really impressed with how easy it is setting up dockerized webservices.

So… Whats happening?

When a user enters the landing page of my application, my server will automatically try to assign an anonymous cookie to the browser that eventually gets traded out for a authenticated cookie.

This is the cookie writing logic on my kotlin server (Sorry for the messy test code).
Here, when I’m in production (on render), I use the external_hostname env variable provided by render to dynamically set the domain for the cookie. Which is working, because when I check the Set-Cookie header in the network request, its there, with no yellow triangle for debugging. But only for the first request after a fresh reboot from a new browser.

override fun default(): CookieBuilder<Cookie> {
        val prod = System.getenv("APP_ENV") == "prod"
        val domain = if (prod) System.getenv("RENDER_EXTERNAL_HOSTNAME") else "localhost"

logger.info("Cookie Settings: [prod=${System.getenv("APP_ENV")}, domain=$domain, secure=$prod]")
        logger.info("Render ENV Domain ${System.getenv("RENDER_EXTERNAL_HOSTNAME")}")

cookie?.run {
            setAttribute(CookieHeaderNames.PATH, "/")
            setAttribute(CookieHeaderNames.DOMAIN, domain)