Deploy Node web app Error

Hello
I am new to Render and have encountered an issue while trying to deploy my repository to Render. I’m not quite sure what steps to take as I’ve only tested my web app locally.
Any help is appreciated.
Thanks in advance

Hi there,

Thanks for reaching out.

The error seems pretty clear:

Error: Cannot find module '/opt/render/project/src/index.js'

It’s looking for index.js in the root of your project, a couple of things to check:

• Is the index.js in the root of your GitHub repo or is it in a subfolder?

• Is the casing correct? (e.g. is it Index.js?)

Hope that helps

Alan

1 Like

Thanks for the reply

I’ve checked my repo and see that, indeed, ‘index.js’ is not at the root.
However, the file does exist within a folder called ‘src’ in the root.

Does this file path not point to the folder?

Would the correct file path look like this?
'/opt/render/project/src/src/index.js ’

Or is there a better way to point to the file ‘index.js’

Thanks!

Your code is stored in /opt/render/project/src/ on Render Native Environments.

It looks like this was coming up from a Start Command of node index.js So if the file in within a src folder in your repo, the Start Command would need to be node ./src/index.js

Alan

Hi. Thanks for the suggestion.
I made the changes for my Start Command and it looks like the deploy works until I hit another error:

How would I configure my package.json file so this resolves, or is there something else that I need to be doing so that I am able to import files for my app?
I’m guessing that the way my files are packaged or configured to run on Render isn’t optimal for what I’m trying to do…

Thanks

Again the error seems pretty clear:

SyntaxError: Cannot use import statement outside a module

And it includes a suggested a solution:

Warning: To load an ES module, set "type": "module" in the package.json or use the .mjs extension.