Selenium error: 'chromedriver' executable may have wrong permissions

The app is web scraping. I was following a few guides and videos, such as this: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ne3BH9-5H2o

What I eventually want is that my web app will work in the live website and the scraped data will be automatically downloaded to the user’s machine.

What I have now is that this works perfectly when run locally. I’m really not well versed in this exact thing. It is my first project with Python at all and I’ve tried many suggested solutions from Google and tried my luck with AI chatbots, but not getting anywhere.

The error from running it in a live version of the website is below.

From what I have gathered, I can either switch hosting services (seen PythonAnywhere and Railway.app as suggestions) or I can run my app in a Docker container, which I admit that I didn’t think was necessary, initially. From what I have read, Render does not support Selenium by default, hence the suggestion of Docker.

This is my output from running in a headless browser:

File "/usr/local/lib/python3.11/subprocess.py", line 1026, in __init__
    self._execute_child(args, executable, preexec_fn, close_fds,
  File "/usr/local/lib/python3.11/subprocess.py", line 1955, in _execute_child
    raise child_exception_type(errno_num, err_msg, err_filename)
PermissionError: [Errno 13] Permission denied: '/opt/render/project/src/chromedriver'
During handling of the above exception, another exception occurred:
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/opt/render/project/src/.venv/lib/python3.11/site-packages/flask/app.py", line 2073, in wsgi_app
    response = self.full_dispatch_request()
               ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
  File "/opt/render/project/src/.venv/lib/python3.11/site-packages/flask/app.py", line 1518, in full_dispatch_request
    rv = self.handle_user_exception(e)
         ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^