Error - Cant find folder or Cant find package.json

I cannot get the correct Root Directory setting to Build & Deploy my sample Front End. The pacgake.json file is in sample/client. The app.js and index.js files are in sample/client/src

I have tried
./client
client/
sample/client
client/scr

I am a newbie, any help would be greatly appreciated

Hi there,

sample/client should work for the root directory. What errors were you seeing when you tried this?

Regards,

Keith
Render Support, UTC+10 :australia:

Thanks for the reply.

It did find my package.json. Now I am getting the error "Cannot find module ‘/opt/render/project/src/client/app.js’. My package.json is in the client folder, but my app.js is in the client/src folder. I ran ‘npm create-react-app’, the folder structure was created.

How can I get Render to find both package.json and app.js when they are in different folders?

here is a link to my sample e-comm web app on git: https://github.com/easoftwareGit/e_commerce_2

Hi there,

when i face that error i just simply change my build command in render like below :-

Hoping this will also fix your problem

Thanks for the reply. Updating the Build Command got the deploy farther before crashing, but I am still getting an error. The error is now:

Error: Cannot find module ‘/opt/render/project/src/client/app.js’

I know the app.js file not in /src/client, because it is in /client/src/

Hi there,

You should deploy your client as a static site, not as a web service. The issue here is your src/App.js is part of your React app (not you don’t have an app.js anywhere in your app). It is not running a web server like Express to serve your built React app. You could use react-scripts start (or just npm start) but it is not recommended to do this in a production environment.